Verified Beauty Data

Dupe report Nº 040 / Tranexamic acid + kojic acid + niacinamide dark-spot serums

SkinCeuticals Discoloration Defense dupes, ranked by formula match

Paula's Choice matches 2 of 4 disclosed actives at the identical dose — but drops kojic acid and HEPES entirely.

Some links earn us a commission. It never changes the verdict — the methodology is public.

02 / The scoreboard

2 formulas, 4 numbers that matter

Read the actives column first — it is the apples-to-apples comparison. $ per gram of active is what the working ingredients cost you; the base-formula score is supporting evidence, not the verdict.

Product Actives vs original $ / g of active Price Base formula Verdict
SkinCeuticals Discoloration Defense Disclosed by brand — not disclosed $115.00 30 mL · retail 100% the reference The original
Partial overlap missing actives — different formula wearing the keywords
Paula's Choice CLINICAL Discoloration Repair Serum Concentrations disclosed by brand — not disclosed $55.00 30 mL · Amazon 72% highest measured The winner Amazon →

same % as original different % ? in formula, % undisclosed not in formula

03 / The original

Why the original is the original

Discoloration Defense is a four-active dark-spot serum: 3% tranexamic acid, 1% kojic acid, 5% niacinamide, and 5% HEPES, all disclosed directly in SkinCeuticals' own marketing copy and corroborated across Dermstore's official product page and multiple authorized dermatology-practice retailers. Niacinamide sits 3rd on the INCI, HEPES 4th, tranexamic acid 6th, kojic acid 9th — a hydroquinone-free formula built for stubborn post-inflammatory and sun-driven discoloration.

Paula's Choice CLINICAL Discoloration Repair Serum discloses the identical dose of the two actives that carry most of the brightening load — 3% tranexamic acid and 5% niacinamide, both exact matches, not diluted approximations. What it drops entirely is kojic acid and HEPES: neither appears anywhere in Paula's Choice's ~22-ingredient INCI. In their place, Paula's Choice adds 0.5% bakuchiol, a retinol-alternative absent from the SkinCeuticals formula.

This is an honest trade, not a downgrade: identical dose on the two shared actives, a real gap on the other two, and a differentiator the original doesn't have. If kojic acid or HEPES's enzymatic exfoliation is specifically why you want Discoloration Defense, no cheaper product here replicates them. If tranexamic acid and niacinamide are the actives doing the work for you, Paula's Choice delivers the same numbers for $60 less — plus a retinol-alternative bonus the original skips.

04 / The candidates

Every candidate, examined

01 / Paula's Choice

The winner
Paula's Choice CLINICAL Discoloration Repair Serum bottle
per g of active
$55.00 retail · 30 mL
72% base formula · highest of 6

Paula's Choice CLINICAL Discoloration Repair Serum

Shared formula DNA 7 of 14 original ingredients present
Aqua Butylene Glycol Niacinamide Hydroxyethylpiperazine Ethane Sulfonic Acid Glycerin Tranexamic Acid Propylene Glycol Hydroxyethyl Urea Kojic Acid Caprylyl Glycol Allantoin Chlorphenesin Xanthan Gum Disodium EDTA

shared with original not shared rare marker — weighs more in the score

What matches
Discloses the identical 3% tranexamic acid and 5% niacinamide as the original — exact doses, not diluted approximations, on the two actives that carry most of the brightening effect.
What differs
No kojic acid and no HEPES at all — the original's other two disclosed actives have no counterpart here. In their place, 0.5% bakuchiol, a retinol-alternative the original doesn't carry.
Who it's for
The winner if tranexamic acid and niacinamide are the actives doing the work for you — $55 versus $115, about half the price — but skip it if kojic acid or HEPES is specifically why you wanted the original.
Ships in
Packaging not verified No brand or retailer statement on the bottle — we won’t guess.
pH
pH not published L-ascorbic acid needs pH below 3.5 to absorb
Data source
Concentrations disclosed by brand Paula's Choice discloses 3% tranexamic acid, 5% niacinamide, and 0.5% bakuchiol directly in its own product marketing copy for this serum — independently corroborated verbatim across two retailer mirrors of the brand's own product copy (Dermstore and Cloud10Beauty, both fetched 2026-07-30), plus a third source (SearchWellness). Niacinamide confirmed 2nd ingredient and Tranexamic Acid 4th via INCIDecoder (fetched 2026-07-30); Bakuchiol appears further down the ~22-ingredient list. Size 1 fl oz / 30 mL and Amazon price $55.00 PA-API-verified 2026-07-30 (ASIN B092397B3V). No independently verifiable rating/review count was found this session and none is claimed here. Reused from verifiedbeautydata report #039, where this product is the hero rather than the dupe.

$55.00 for 30 mL → — not disclosed: the brand doesn't state active percentages, so this number cannot honestly exist.

Buy on Amazon $55.00

05 / Methodology

How we verified this

Verified 2026-07-30

Every formula on this page was tokenized — split into its individual INCI ingredients — and matched against the EU CosIng ingredient database, so "Aqua," "Water," and "Eau" all resolve to the same ingredient.

The base-formula match score works like this: sharing a rare ingredient counts far more than sharing a common one. Almost every serum contains water and glycerin — that proves nothing. Almost nothing contains Ethoxydiglycol or Laureth-23, so when a candidate shares those with the original, it says something real about how the formula was built. (For the statisticians: it is an IDF-weighted Jaccard similarity over the normalized ingredient lists.)

Scores are computed, not opinions. The verdict tags are our editorial read of the actives, the scores, and the prices — and the methodology stays public so you can disagree with us precisely.

Where the ingredient lists come from

  1. Disclosed by brand

    Ingredient percentages published by the brand itself, on its own product page — the strongest provenance.

  2. Concentrations disclosed by brand

Sources for this report

  • Dermstore official product page for SkinCeuticals Discoloration Defense (fetched 2026-07-30) — price, size, full INCI list, and disclosed actives
  • Cross-check of the disclosed actives (3% tranexamic acid, 1% kojic acid, 5% niacinamide, 5% HEPES) across multiple independent authorized dermatology-practice retailers reproducing the brand's own copy verbatim (fetched 2026-07-30)
  • verifiedbeautydata report #039 (paulas-choice-discoloration-repair-serum) — reused, already-verified Paula's Choice CLINICAL Discoloration Repair Serum record (Amazon PA-API price/ASIN verified 2026-07-30, INCI via INCIDecoder)
  • SkinCeuticals does not authorize Amazon resellers — no Amazon price recorded for the hero and no buy link generated; see honesty note

06 / Questions

Frequently asked

What is the best SkinCeuticals Discoloration Defense dupe?
Paula's Choice CLINICAL Discoloration Repair Serum ($55) discloses the identical 3% tranexamic acid and 5% niacinamide — exact doses on the two actives that do the most brightening work — for about half the $115 price. It does not replicate kojic acid or HEPES.
Does Paula's Choice Discoloration Repair Serum have kojic acid or HEPES?
No. Neither appears anywhere in its ~22-ingredient INCI. Those are 2 of SkinCeuticals Discoloration Defense's 4 disclosed actives, and neither has a counterpart in Paula's Choice's formula.
Is Paula's Choice Discoloration Repair Serum a weaker version of SkinCeuticals Discoloration Defense?
Not on the actives it does share — tranexamic acid and niacinamide are both disclosed at the identical dose, not a diluted approximation. It's a different stack, not a strictly weaker one: it drops kojic acid and HEPES entirely, but adds 0.5% bakuchiol, a retinol-alternative the original doesn't contain.