Ingredient guide / cosmetic active
Niacinamide (Vitamin B3)
NIACINAMIDE
Which strength the evidence supports, what it does and does not do, what to pair it with, and what to expect by week. It draws on the published trials, a panel of 19 sources, a count of the community's comments, and the ingredient lists of 22 products.
- skin-conditioning agent
- smoothing agent
- antioxidant
- hair-conditioning agent
Niacinamide is the most forgiving active in skincare: it does several modest things, it does them at 2–5%, and it gets along with everything else in a routine. The 10% and 20% serums that dominate the shelf have no trial behind the extra strength. The two things people worry about, flushing and the vitamin C reaction, trace back to no published source.
01 / What this page adds
Seven numbers from the primary sources
Two are trial figures and link to the paper; two are absences we searched for and record; three are computed from the tables lower on this page.
- 82% vs 68%
In the trial that put niacinamide in acne care, 4% niacinamide gel improved 82% of patients at eight weeks against 68% on 1% clindamycin gel, a difference the trial could not distinguish from chance (P = 0.19). Read it as: as good as the prescription antibiotic, without the resistance problem. 6
Shalita 1995, 76 patients, double-blind, 38 per arm; lesion counts fell 60% vs 43%, also not significantly different. The comparator was an antibiotic; there was no placebo arm.
- 0
Head-to-head trials comparing 5% niacinamide with 10% or 20%. None exist. The argument between "5% is the sweet spot" and "10% is standard" has no trial on either side. 14
Searched PubMed and the reviews (Wohlrab 2014, Forbat 2017, Boo 2021) for a comparison of shelf strengths. The one concentration comparison in the literature runs the other way: in the 2021 review's account, a 2% moisturizer was not significantly better than vehicle at four to eight weeks while 5% was. Above 5%, the only data is tolerance testing.
- 0
Published sources for the claim that mixing niacinamide with vitamin C makes niacin and flushes the skin. Every page repeating it cites an unnamed 1960s study that we could not find. 10
The safety panel found no stinging at up to 10% and no irritation at up to 5% in use tests. Flushing is what oral niacin does; it is a different molecule.
- 18% vs 29%
For melasma, 4% niacinamide caused side effects in 18% of patients against 29% for 4% hydroquinone. Patients rated hydroquinone's side better (55% vs 44% good-to-excellent); the colorimeter found no significant difference between the two sides. 11
Navarrete-Solís 2011, 27 patients, split-face, eight weeks. Fewer side effects, the one tolerability measure reported; weaker only on the patients' own rating.
- 29%
29% of the 610 community comments that mention niacinamide report stinging, flushing, redness or irritation; where a strength is named, 10% appears more often than 5% (48 against 39 of the 174). In the safety testing, 5% produced no irritation at all.
174 of 610 comments matched the irritation keywords; counted over comments that themselves mention niacinamide, from 200 threads on three subreddits. The gap between the trial strength and the shelf strength shows up as a complaint rate. Method and limits in the field-reports section.
- 17 of 22
17 of the 22 products we decoded state a niacinamide percentage: 13 in the product's name, 3 on the brand page, 1 on the label. One of the 13 names overstates: medicube's "15%" is 10% niacinamide plus 5% tranexamic acid added together.
From the label decode below. The 5 that state no percentage put niacinamide fourth to seventh in the ingredient list. Fragrance in 3 of 22, denatured alcohol in 0, a zinc salt in 7.
- 26×
A gram of niacinamide costs $1.99 in the cheapest 10% serum and $52.00 in the priciest 5% serum in our decode.
Price ÷ (size in mL × stated %), treating the product as water. Cheapest: Good Molecules 10%, $5.97 for 30 mL on Amazon. Priciest: SkinCeuticals Metacell Renewal B3, 5%, $130 for 50 mL at the brand's retailer. Among the five picks below that state a strength, the spread is $1.99 to $5.33.
Strength recommended by the sources that state one
What a gram of the active costs, by product
02 / Effective concentration
What percentage works
Effective range
2–5%
The trials that support each claim used 2–5%: 2% for oil, 4% for acne, 4–5% for pigmentation, 5% for lines and tone. Products on the shelf run 10–20%, and no trial has compared 5% with 10%. Start at 5%.
- Study Topical 2% niacinamide significantly lowered sebum excretion rate at two and four weeks in a 100-subject Japanese trial (50 niacinamide, 50 placebo), and lowered casual sebum by six weeks in a 30-subject Caucasian split-face study; neither abstract gives the size of the change, and neither measured pores. 7
- Study 4% topical nicotinamide gel was equivalent in efficacy to 1% clindamycin gel in reducing inflammatory acne vulgaris lesions in a randomized controlled trial. 6
- Study 5% niacinamide twice daily for 12 weeks (split-face, double-blind, n=50 female subjects) significantly reduced fine lines/wrinkles, hyperpigmented spots, red blotchiness, skin sallowness, and improved elasticity vs vehicle control. 9
- Study 5% niacinamide twice daily for 12 weeks (split-face, double-blind, n=50, Caucasian women aged 40–60) reduced yellowing, wrinkling, red blotchiness, and hyperpigmented spots significantly versus vehicle control. 8
- CIR CIR safety testing showed no stinging at concentrations up to 10% and no irritation at concentrations up to 5% in clinical use tests; 21-day cumulative irritation test up to 5% showed no irritancy. 10
Acne: patients improved at 8 weeks (Shalita 1995)
Melasma: patients with side effects (Navarrete-Solís 2011)
03 / Which strength
Which strength: 2, 4, 5, 10 or 20 percent
Match the strength to the claim you are buying it for, because that is how the trials were run. The number on the front of a 10% or 20% serum has not been tested against a lower one.
| Strength | What the trial showed | Trial | What the shelf sells |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2% | Sebum excretion fell within two weeks against placebo in a Japanese trial (50 on niacinamide, 50 on placebo); casual sebum fell by six weeks in a 30-person Caucasian split-face study. First-signs strength for oil and shine. | Draelos 2006, 4–6 weeks | Rare as a headline strength; common as the undisclosed amount in moisturizers. |
| 4% | 82% of acne patients improved vs 68% on 1% clindamycin; lesions down 60% vs 43%. For melasma, 44% improved vs 55% on hydroquinone, with fewer side effects. | Shalita 1995; Navarrete-Solís 2011 | Almost nothing is sold at 4%. The 5% products are the practical match. |
| 5% | Fine lines, spots, red blotchiness and sallowness improved against vehicle over 12 weeks in two split-face trials; hyperpigmentation fell over 4 weeks. | Bissett 2004, 2005; Hakozaki 2002 | The Ordinary 5% emulsion, Good Molecules 5%, SkinCeuticals B3. |
| 10% | No efficacy trial at this strength. Safety testing found no stinging at 10%. | CIR 2005 (tolerance only) | The most common headline strength: The Ordinary, Good Molecules, INKEY, Paula's Choice, Geek & Gorgeous, Minimalist, Sunday Riley, Farmacy. |
| 12–20% | No efficacy trial at any of these strengths. The human stinging data stops at 10%; the safety review's only 20% figure is a negative guinea-pig sensitization test. | — | Naturium 12%, COSRX 15%, medicube 15% (10% niacinamide + 5% tranexamic), Paula's Choice 20%, INKEY 20%. |
- Study Clinical testing produced no stinging at concentrations up to 10% and no irritation in use tests at up to 5%; a 21-day cumulative irritation test at up to 5% was clean. 10
- Review Nicotinamide is well tolerated and often usable by people who cannot tolerate topical retinoids or fruit acids. 17
Why the shelf went to 10%
The 2005 safety review found niacinamide in products at 0.0001% to 3%. The Ordinary's 10% + zinc serum changed the shelf: it is the product named in 29% of the community comments we counted, more than every other brand combined, and the brands that followed matched its number. Michelle Wong's reading of the supplier data is that 0.5–5% is the range formulators are told to use; the higher figures are safe, and untested.
Ingredient suppliers recommend niacinamide at 0.5–5%. 18
04 / Who it is for
What niacinamide does, and what it only sort of does
It is a vitamin the skin uses in several enzyme systems at once, so the effects are broad and each one is modest. Nothing it does is dramatic; the value is that it does several things at a strength the safety testing found irritates no one, which the community section below complicates.
- Works Oily skin and shine — Sebum excretion fell measurably within two weeks at 2% in the Japanese trial (50 vs 50 on placebo), and casual sebum fell by six weeks in the 30-person Caucasian study. The effect is real and small. 7
- Works Inflammatory acne — 4% performed as well as 1% clindamycin over eight weeks (82% vs 68% improved, not a significant difference), without the resistance problem antibiotics carry. It is an anti-inflammatory; it works beside benzoyl peroxide, which kills the bacteria. 6
- Works Dry, weak or eczema-prone skin — It raises the skin's own ceramide production several-fold in cultured cells and lowers water loss on dry skin in use; a 2% cream improved atopic dry skin over four to eight weeks in a 28-patient comparison against white petrolatum. 4
- Helps, not alone Dark spots and melasma — It works, slowly, and patients rate it below hydroquinone: 44% versus 55% good-to-excellent at eight weeks, with fewer side effects and no difference on the colorimeter. Expect a modest evening of tone over two to three months. 11
- Helps, not alone Fine lines and sallowness — 5% improved fine lines, spots, blotchiness and yellowing against vehicle in 12-week split-face trials. The papers report that the change was significant without saying how large it was. It is a texture-and-tone active; a retinoid does more for lines. 9
- Helps, not alone Redness and rosacea — Its anti-inflammatory and barrier effects are why dermatologists reach for it in rosacea; Dr Lim starts rosacea patients on it before other topicals, and it is one of the few actives rosacea skin tolerates. There is no rosacea trial. The evidence is mechanism and clinic experience. 22
- Wrong tool Pore size — No trial measures pore diameter. "Minimizes pores" is the sebum effect described from the outside: less oil, less visible pores, no change to the pore.
By skin type
- Oily or acne-prone
- 5% daily, or a 10% + zinc serum if you want the oil-control positioning; zinc PCA has its own thin sebum evidence. Nothing above 10% adds anything the trials measured.
- Dry or dehydrated
- 5% in a moisturizer base, where the ceramide effect is the point. Several undisclosed-strength moisturizers (CeraVe PM, La Roche-Posay Toleriane) carry it fourth to sixth in the ingredient list.
- Sensitive or rosacea-prone
- Start at 5% once a day. A serum that stings or flushes is more likely the formula (pH, penetration enhancers, niacin impurity) than the ingredient; change the product before you drop the ingredient. 19
- Darker skin tones
- One of the safer brightening actives for skin that marks easily, because it lightens by slowing melanin transfer between cells. The melasma trial that compared it with hydroquinone was run in Mexico. 11
- Pregnant or nursing
- Dr Bunting lists it as usable in pregnancy and breastfeeding, and it is the usual substitute when retinoids are stopped. That is a clinician's position; there is no pregnancy trial. 23
05 / How it works
What it does in the skin
Niacinamide is the amide of vitamin B3. Skin cells convert it into NAD and NADP, the coenzymes behind hundreds of reactions, which is why one ingredient touches oil, barrier, pigment and inflammation at once.
- Study In cultured keratinocytes it increased ceramide synthesis 4–5-fold and raised glucosylceramide, sphingomyelin, free fatty acids and cholesterol; on dry skin it raised stratum-corneum ceramide and lowered water loss. 1
- Study It reduces the transfer of melanosomes from melanocytes to keratinocytes by 35–68% in co-culture, which is how it lightens without bleaching the pigment cell. 3
- Review The 2021 review found benefits across aging and pigmentation but no convincing evidence of specific molecular targets for them, which is the fair summary: it helps, through a broad mechanism. 14
06 / The routine
A protocol, week by week
It assumes a 5% serum, which is the strength the trials support. Niacinamide needs no ramp-up; the schedule is about when to judge each effect, because they arrive at different speeds.
- Week 0 5% serum, twice a day if you can, once if you cannot. The acne trial and both anti-aging trials applied it twice daily. Once a day under moisturizer is the usual real-world dose; expect the effects to arrive later than the trial weeks below. Morning or evening; it does not conflict with sunscreen, vitamin C or a retinoid.
- Week 2 Oil and shine should be measurably lower. This is the first effect the trials caught, at 2%. If the serum stings, see the 10% note at the end of this routine.
- Week 4 Add it to whatever else you use. Vitamin C in the morning, a retinoid at night, an acid on alternate nights: niacinamide sits with all of them, and with a retinoid it reduces the irritation rather than adding to it.
- Week 8 Judge acne and redness. This is where the acne trial measured (82% improved on 4%). If inflamed spots have not changed, niacinamide alone is the wrong tool; add benzoyl peroxide or a retinoid, which treat the cause it only calms.
- Week 12 Judge tone, spots and fine lines. The pigmentation and aging trials measured here. Expect an evening of tone and a softening of blotchiness; a dark spot that has not moved by now needs a stronger brightener (tranexamic acid, azelaic acid, or hydroquinone under a dermatologist).
- Ever Going to 10% or 20%. No trial says it helps. If a 10% serum with zinc suits oily skin, fine. If it stings, switch to a 5% product from a different brand. There is no result at 20% at all; every measured benefit was reached at 5% or below.
07 / Combinations
What to pair niacinamide with, and what to keep apart
Almost everything pairs. The one combination the internet warns about, vitamin C, has no published basis, and the one ingredient to avoid, niacin, is a different molecule that shares half the name and none of the behavior.
| With | Verdict | How | Why |
|---|---|---|---|
| Vitamin C (L-ascorbic acid) | Pairs well | Same routine, same layer if you like. | The claim that they react to form niacin and flush the skin traces to an unnamed 1960s test of unstabilized ascorbic acid that no one can produce. Modern formulas combine them on purpose; in a 60-patient melasma trial, a serum of 5% niacinamide, tranexamic acid and vitamin C reduced pigmentation significantly and to a similar degree as 4% hydroquinone over three months. 13 |
| Retinol, retinal, tretinoin | Pairs well | Niacinamide first or second, retinoid on top, nightly. | Niacinamide's barrier effect blunts retinoid irritation; Medical News Today's summary of the research is that the pair is better tolerated than the retinoid alone. We did not locate the underlying trial. 21 |
| Benzoyl peroxide | Pairs well | Benzoyl peroxide as the wash or spot, niacinamide as the leave-on. | No interaction has been reported and there is no mechanism for one. Niacinamide is an anti-inflammatory; benzoyl peroxide is a bactericide. They treat different halves of the same spot. |
| AHAs and BHAs (glycolic, lactic, salicylic) | Pairs well | Any order. | The old warning was about pH: acids work low and niacinamide's pH is near neutral. On skin the two do not sit in one solution long enough for it to matter. No study has tested the pairing either way. |
| Azelaic acid | Pairs well | Together, on redness and spots. | Complementary brighteners with different mechanisms; dermatologists pair them for rosacea-prone, spot-prone skin. 23 |
| Tranexamic acid, arbutin, kojic acid | Pairs well | Together in one serum is how they are usually sold. | The melasma trial that performed similarly to hydroquinone used exactly this stack: 5% niacinamide, 1% tranexamic acid, vitamin C. 13 |
| Hydroquinone | Pairs well | Niacinamide as the daytime brightener, hydroquinone under a dermatologist's direction. | In a head-to-head, 4% niacinamide was gentler (18% vs 29% side effects); patients rated hydroquinone's side better (55% vs 44%) and the colorimeter found no difference. They are alternatives more than partners. 11 |
| Zinc PCA | Pairs well | Already in the 10% serums for oily skin. | Zinc has thin, separate sebum evidence and no reported interaction. It is why the 10% + zinc products exist. |
| Niacin (nicotinic acid) | Keep apart | Check the label if a product flushes you. | Niacin is the vitamin B3 acid, and it dilates blood vessels: warmth, redness, tingling. It is what a 'niacinamide flush' usually is, either as an impurity or as breakdown in an old bottle. 19 |
"Pair" here means it has been formulated or trialed together, or there is no mechanism for a problem. The only chemistry to respect is niacinamide's own: keep the bottle out of heat, because that is what turns it into niacin.
08 / What to expect
What to expect, week by week
The effects arrive in the order the trials measured them: oil first, acne and redness by two months, pigment and lines by three. Nothing arrives in a week.
- Week 2 Sebum down. The first measured effect: sebum excretion significantly lower than placebo at week 2 in the Japanese trial at 2%. 7
- Weeks 2–4 Redness and shine ease. The dermatologists in the panel put first visible change at two to four weeks; the panel's range for full effect is eight to twelve. 24
- Week 4 Pigment begins to shift. Hyperpigmentation decreased against vehicle at four weeks at 5% in the split-face study; the abstract gives the direction of the change without its size. 2
- Week 8 Acne: the trial endpoint. 82% of patients improved on 4% niacinamide and 68% on clindamycin, a gap the trial could not distinguish from chance. Melasma at the same point: 44% good-to-excellent on niacinamide, 55% on hydroquinone. 6
- Weeks 10–12 Lines, spots, blotchiness, sallowness. The two Bissett trials measured here (weeks 0, 4, 8, 12); Kimball's last images were at week 8 of a ten-week study. All significant against vehicle, none with an effect size in the abstract. 8
- After week 12 Keep it. The only trial past twelve weeks is the five-month melasma study of a niacinamide, tranexamic acid and vitamin C serum; no single-ingredient trial runs longer, and none shows a higher strength extending the effect. From here it is maintenance. 13
09 / The picks
Six products, one per job
We did not test these on skin; see the method note.
One product per real use. Each is here because it is the strength the trials support, or the product the community names, at the best price per gram we could find; the ones we cut were the same thing at a worse price or with a caveat we could not resolve. Prices are Amazon's on the day this page was built; strengths are as the product states them.
-
Trial strength, cheapest
Good Molecules 5% Niacinamide Serum with Ectoin
5% · serum · 30 mL · $8.00 · $5.33/g active
The strength every benefit claim was tested at, for eight dollars, with ectoin as the soothing agent. The default choice.
Currently unavailable on Amazon (checked 2026-09-19)
-
Trial strength for face and body
The Ordinary Niacinamide 5% Face and Body Emulsion
5% · emulsion · 100 mL · $14.00 · $2.80/g active
Same 5% in a lotion base at 100 mL, which makes it the cheapest per gram of any 5% product and the one to use on chest, back and arms.
Currently unavailable on Amazon (checked 2026-09-19)
-
The standard 10%, if you want the oil-control version
The Ordinary Niacinamide 10% + Zinc 1%
10% · serum · 30 mL · $6.00 · $2.00/g active
The product that made 10% the shelf standard and the one the community names most (29% of comments). The zinc is the oil-control angle; the 10% has no trial over 5%.
Stings for some; the formula is the likelier cause. The 5% picks above are the fallback.
-
Cheapest gram of active on the page
Good Molecules Niacinamide Serum 10%
10% · serum · 30 mL · $5.97 · $1.99/g active
Nine ingredients, $1.99 per gram of niacinamide, no zinc, no fragrance. The plain version of the standard 10%.
-
Oily skin, with the most zinc
Naturium Niacinamide Serum 12% Plus Zinc 2%
12% · serum · 30 mL · $16.99 · $4.72/g active
The highest zinc content on the list at a stated 2%, with hyaluronate in a pH-stated base (5.0–5.6). Buy it for the zinc; there is no trial showing 12% does more than 5%.
-
Moisturizer that carries it
CeraVe PM Facial Moisturizing Lotion
undisclosed % · moisturizer · 89 mL · $14.97
Niacinamide fourth in the ingredient list with three ceramides and hyaluronate, at a strength CeraVe does not state. For dry or sensitive skin this is the sensible way to get it, inside the barrier cream.
Niacinamide is fourth in the list, which places it above the 1% line in most formulations; CeraVe does not state the figure.
Amazon prices on the day this page was built; they change. $ per gram of active = listed price ÷ (size in mL × stated %), treating the product as water. Affiliate links; we earn a commission at no cost to you.
10 / The two myths
The flush and the vitamin C reaction, traced to their sources
Two warnings follow niacinamide around: that it flushes the skin at high strength, and that it cancels vitamin C by turning into niacin. We looked for where each comes from.
- Primary sources for the vitamin C claim
- 0every page repeating it cites an unnamed 1960s study; none names it and we could not find it
- Stinging in clinical testing
- noneat concentrations up to 10%, per the 2005 safety review 10
- Irritation in use tests
- noneat up to 5%, including a 21-day cumulative test 10
- Community comments reporting a flush, sting or redness
- 29%174 of the 610 comments that mention niacinamide; where a strength is named, 10% appears in 48 and 5% in 39
- Review Flushing and tingling at higher strength come from niacin, present as an impurity or formed as niacinamide breaks down. 19
- Review The worry traces to 1960s laboratory tests using unstable, heated raw materials; in modern cosmetic formulas the two are stable side by side, and brands combine them on purpose. 20
11 / Original research
The ingredient lists of 22 niacinamide products, decoded
Read from brand pages and Ulta, Target, Amazon and Dermstore listings. A product whose list we could not read is not in the table.
The number on the front carries the pitch, so we checked where it comes from and what sits behind it: whether the percentage is stated anywhere but the product's name, where niacinamide falls in the ingredient list when it isn't, and what else is in the bottle.
- Fragrance
- 14%3 of 22 products
- Denatured alcohol
- 0%0 of 22 products
- Zinc salt
- 32%7 of 22 products
- Barrier / soothing add-ins
- 77%17 of 22 products
- 17 of 22 state a percentage: 13 in the product's name, 3 on the brand page (Glow Recipe, SkinCeuticals, Beauty of Joseon), 1 on the label. Niacinamide is a cosmetic ingredient, so there is no Drug Facts panel to check any of them against.
- One name overstates. medicube's "TXA Niacinamide 15%" is 10% niacinamide plus 5% tranexamic acid, added together; the label gives the split.
- The 5 that state no percentage (CeraVe PM, La Roche-Posay Toleriane, Olay Regenerist, e.l.f. Triple Bounce, Byoma Clarifying) put niacinamide fourth to seventh in the list. Ingredients above 1% are listed in descending order, which places these above the 1% line in most formulations; the exact strength is unstated.
- In 11 of the 13 products at 10% or more, niacinamide is the second ingredient after water. A 10% serum is mostly water, niacinamide and one thickener.
- Fragrance in 3 of 22 (Glow Recipe, SkinCeuticals, Olay), essential oils in 4, denatured alcohol in 0.
- A zinc salt rides along in 7 of 22; 6 of the 7 are 10%+ serums positioned for oily skin, the other is Byoma's undisclosed-strength clarifying serum. Zinc has thin, separate sebum evidence; it is the reason those products say "pores" on the front.
- The two 20% products (Paula's Choice CLINICAL, INKEY SuperSolutions) are built like the 10% ones: niacinamide second in the list, with a soothing agent each (panthenol; squalane). The extra strength has no trial behind it.
- Two stated pH values in the set, Naturium at 5.0–5.6 and INKEY at 6.09. Niacinamide is stable across that range; the pH matters for what you layer it with.
| Product | % | Form | Fragrance | Alcohol denat. | Zinc | Add-ins | Other actives | INCI |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| The Ordinary Niacinamide 10% + Zinc 1% | 10 | serum | no | no | yes | Zinc PCA 1% | — | 11 |
| The Ordinary Niacinamide 5% Face and Body Emulsion | 5 | emulsion | no | no | no | Malic Acid (AHA), Tocopherol (Vitamin E), Glycerin | — | 19 |
| Paula's Choice 10% Niacinamide Booster | 10 | booster | no | no | no | Ascorbyl Glucoside (Vitamin C derivative), Sodium Hyaluronate (Hyaluronic Acid), Ubiquinone (CoQ10), Panthenol, Beta-Glucan, Genistein (isoflavone antioxidant), Licorice Root Extract | — | 25 |
| Paula's Choice CLINICAL 20% Niacinamide Treatment | 20 | serum | no | no | no | Ascorbyl Glucoside (Vitamin C derivative), Panthenol, Green Tea Leaf Extract (antioxidant), Licorice Root Extract, Meadowsweet Extract | — | 25 |
| The INKEY List Niacinamide Serum (10%) | 10 | serum | no | no | no | Hyaluronic Acid, Panthenol, Allantoin, Squalane | — | 24 |
| The INKEY List SuperSolutions 20% Niacinamide Serum | 20 | serum | no | no | yes | Zinc PCA, Squalane | — | 15 |
| Naturium Niacinamide Serum 12% Plus Zinc 2% | 12 | serum | no | no | yes | Zinc PCA 2%, Sodium Hyaluronate, Tocopheryl Acetate (Vitamin E) | — | 16 |
| Good Molecules Niacinamide Serum (10%) | 10 | serum | no | no | no | Betaine | — | 9 |
| CeraVe PM Facial Moisturizing Lotion | — ? | moisturizer | no | no | no | Ceramide NP, Ceramide AP, Ceramide EOP, Sodium Hyaluronate (Hyaluronic Acid), Phytosphingosine | — | 24 |
| La Roche-Posay Toleriane Double Repair Face Moisturizer | — ? | moisturizer | no | no | no | Squalane, Ceramide NP | — | 18 |
| Glow Recipe Watermelon Glow Niacinamide Dew Drops | 2 | serum | yes | no | no | Sodium Hyaluronate (Hyaluronic Acid), Citrullus Lanatus (Watermelon) Fruit Extract, Moringa Oleifera Seed Oil, Eclipta Prostrata (False Daisy) Extract | — | 23 |
| SkinCeuticals Metacell Renewal B3 | 5 | serum | yes | no | no | Adenosine, Tetradecyl Aminobutyroylvalylaminobutyric Urea Trifluoroacetate (Syn-Ake-type peptide), Laminaria Digitata Extract (algae extract) | — | 29 |
| Olay Regenerist Micro-Sculpting Cream | — ? | moisturizer | yes | no | no | Panthenol, Palmitoyl Dipeptide-7 (peptide), Palmitoyl Pentapeptide-4 (Matrixyl-type peptide), Tripeptide-3 (peptide) | — | 30 |
| Beauty of Joseon Glow Serum Propolis + Niacinamide | 2 | serum | no | no | no | Propolis Extract, Sodium Hyaluronate (hyaluronic acid), Centella Asiatica Extract, Betaine Salicylate (BHA-type) | — | 30 |
| COSRX The Niacinamide 15 Serum | 15 | serum | no | no | yes | Zinc PCA, Acetyl Glucosamine, Allantoin, Trehalose | — | 15 |
| Sunday Riley B3 Nice 10% Niacinamide Serum | 10 | serum | no | no | no | Resveratrol (trans-Resveratrol), EGCG (Epigallocatechin Gallatyl Glucoside, green tea derivative), Madecassoside, Asiaticoside, Betaine | — | 49 |
| Geek & Gorgeous B-Bomb (10% Niacinamide Serum) | 10 | serum | no | no | yes | Zinc PCA, Sarcosine | — | 11 |
| Minimalist 10% Niacinamide Face Serum | 10 | serum | no | no | yes | Zinc PCA, Zinc Glycinate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Acetyl Glucosamine, Allantoin, Lactic Acid, Pseudoalteromonas Ferment Extract (marketed as 'Matmarine') | — | 24 |
| e.l.f. SKIN Holy Hydration! Triple Bounce Serum | — ? | serum | no | no | no | Hyaluronic Acid (Sodium Hyaluronate / Hydrolyzed Sodium Hyaluronate), Panthenol, Squalane | — | 14 |
| Byoma Clarifying Serum | — ? | serum | no | no | yes | Zinc Lactate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Ceramide NP, Cholesterol, Phytosphingosine, Lactic Acid | — | 26 |
| Farmacy 10% Niacinamide Night Face Mask | 10 | mask | no | no | no | Panthenol (Pro-Vitamin B5), Beta-Glucan, Bisabolol, Allantoin, Ginger Root Extract, Blueberry Seed Oil | — | 29 |
| medicube TXA + Niacinamide 15% Glow Facial Serum (marketed as 'TXA Niacinamide 15% Serum') | 10 | serum | no | no | no | Tranexamic Acid 5%, Arbutin 2%, Adenosine, Panthenol, Ferulic Acid, multiple Hyaluronic Acid forms/molecular weights, peptides (Acetyl Tetrapeptide-5, Hexapeptide-9, Palmitoyl Tripeptide-5) | — | 37 |
Percentages are as the product states them; "pct source" says where. Barrier flag: ceramides, hyaluronate, panthenol, allantoin, bisabolol, squalane, ectoin, beta-glucan, centella (including madecassoside) or propolis. INCI = number of listed ingredients. Prices in this table are the retailer's list price at the URL read; the picks above use Amazon's price. Good Molecules 5% Ectoin is in the picks but not in this table because its ingredient list loads in a way we could not read.
Download the data
- Label decode CSV
- Label decode JSON
- 19-source consensus table CSV
- Trial arms JSON
- Community themes CSV
These files are CC BY 4.0. Cite as: Verified Beauty Data, "Niacinamide" (2026), verifiedbeautydata.com/ingredients/niacinamide/. Link to the page or the file; no permission needed.
12 / The consensus
What 19 sources recommend, and where they split
3 Reviews · 2 Guidelines · 4 Health publishers · 9 Clinician, chemist or brand pages · 1 Editorial test — every row links to the page it came from.
Three reviews, the 2005 safety panel, DermNet, four medically reviewed health publishers, three dermatologists, one chemist (two pieces), four brand or blog pages, and an editorial panel quoting five dermatologists. 13 state a strength; 6 do not. The magazines (Allure, Byrdie, Vogue, Harper's Bazaar, Good Housekeeping) block automated reading and are not in the table.
| Source | Who | Recommends | Their bottom line |
|---|---|---|---|
| Wohlrab & Kreft 2014 (review) Review · 2014-06-27 | Johannes Wohlrab, Daniela Kreft, MD; Department of Dermatology and Venereology, Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg… | — | The use of niacinamide in galenic preparations for epicutaneous application offers most interesting prospects. |
| Boo 2021 (review) Review · 2021-08-21 | Yong Chool Boo, Department of Molecular Medicine, School of Medicine, Kyungpook National University… | 4-5% described as standard cosmetic formulation strength · 10% nicotinamide caused no stinging or flushing on skin and no irritation in a single-use primary irritation test or a… | Nicotinamide is a beneficial cosmetic ingredient that helps skin health and beauty without any severe side effects. |
| Forbat et al. 2017 (review) Review · 2017 | Forbat E, Al-Niaimi F, Ali FR | — | We review the evidence underlying the use of nicotinamide for various dermatological indications, including nonmelanoma cancer prophylaxis, blistering disorders, acne vulgaris and cosmetic indications. |
| DermNet NZ Guideline · 2018-03 | Anoma Ranaweera: Medical Writer, Auckland, New Zealand; Amanda Oakley: Dermatologist… | — | Nicotinamide is well tolerated and often can be used by those who cannot tolerate topical retinoids or fruit acids. |
| CIR safety assessment 2005 Guideline · 2005 | CIR Expert Panel | Used at concentrations from 0.0001% (night preparations) up to 3% (body/hand… · Clinical testing produced no stinging sensation at concentrations up to 10%; use tests produced no irritation at… | Both ingredients were considered safe as used in cosmetics. |
| Healthline Health publisher · Updated May 20, 2025 | Kristeen Cherney, Medically reviewed by Jared Meacham, PhD, RD, CSCS | 5% or less ("most formulations are 5% or less") · No 10% vs 5% vs 2% comparison or high-concentration irritation/flushing discussion; only a general note that most… | Topical niacinamide may have a positive impact on overall skin health. |
| Cleveland Clinic Health publisher · February 6, 2026 | — | 5% or less ("most skin care products contain 5% niacinamide or less, but… · Only states most products are 5% or less and advises starting slowly with a low concentration if skin is sensitive; no… | It's a potent nutrient that rarely has side effects" and can help "make your skin stronger, smoother and brighter. |
| Medical News Today Health publisher · April 14, 2021 | Jayne Leonard, Medically reviewed by Reema Patel, MPA, PA-C | 2% (used in clinical trials cited); no general-use percentage recommendation… · "High concentrations, however, may cause skin irritation, so people should not overuse products containing… | Research indicates that using both together may provide greater benefits and reduce the side effects of using retinol alone. |
| WebMD Health publisher · September 06, 2024 | Frances Gatta, Medically reviewed by Debra Jaliman, MD | 5% or less ("generally safe to use skin care products that contain 5%… · Does not compare 10% vs 5% vs 2% directly or discuss topical flushing at high %; notes oral doses of ~900-1500 mg/day… | Niacinamide is a powerful ingredient that can make your skin healthier and help with many skin problems. It's safe to use, and you can easily add it to your morning and nighttime skin care routine. |
| Lab Muffin (on 10%+ products) Clinician, chemist or brand page · August 8, 2020 | Michelle Wong, PhD in Chemistry; science communicator (Lab Muffin Beauty Science) | 0.5-5% · Ingredient suppliers recommend 0.5-5% based on toxicological/safety data, not to cap efficacy; CIR tested niacinamide… | I really do think there's a safety issue with these products and how you're told to use them. |
| Lab Muffin (The Ordinary review) Clinician, chemist or brand page · April 15, 2017 | Michelle Wong, PhD in Chemistry; science communicator (Lab Muffin Beauty Science) | 10% (the product reviewed) · Flushing/tingling at higher strength comes from niacin present as an impurity or from niacinamide breaking down over… | This is one of the least expensive products in this already budget-friendly line, so if you're on the fence about this product I'd say just go for it! |
| Paula's Choice Clinician, chemist or brand page · Updated July 29, 202 | Desiree Stordahl, Director of Applied Research & Education, Paula's Choice | As low as 0.2%; CIR Expert Panel concluded safety up to 20% · No explicit 10% vs 5% vs 2% comparison or irritation discussion; entry only states benefits start ~0.2% and safety… | Niacinamide is a unique skin-restoring ingredient that offers a multitude of benefits for skin. |
| Dr Sam Bunting Clinician, chemist or brand page · 2020-05-21 | Sam Bunting, Dermatologist (Dr Sam's Skincare, Harley Street, London) | Not stated as a universal recommendation; her own product line uses 5%… | An all-round crowd-pleaser—versatile, well-tolerated and it's actually a dream to formulate with. |
| Dr Davin Lim Clinician, chemist or brand page | Davin Lim, Dermatologist, Cutis Dermatology, Brisbane, Australia | 5-10% (+/- 5%) · Advises starting at a low concentration and increasing as tolerated; does not sharply differentiate 5% vs 10% efficacy | Possibly THE best ingredient for sensitive skin... my number one active if you have rosacea. |
| Curology Clinician, chemist or brand page · 2023-08-31 | Curology Team, Reviewed by Laura Phelan, NP-C (board-certified Family Nurse Practitioner) | 4% for acne; 2-5% for hyperpigmentation with sunscreen; 5% for fine… · "A concentration of lower than 10% may be more suitable if you have sensitive skin or if you're new to using… | The best concentration of niacinamide for you depends on your specific skin concerns. |
| DermApproved Clinician, chemist or brand page | — | 2-5% optimal range; 4-5% described as the 'sweet spot' for pigment/barrier… · "Formulas pushing past 10% rarely do more and raise the odds of flushing or a prickly feel"; most dermatologist-favored… | Formulas pushing past 10% rarely do more and raise the odds of flushing or a prickly feel. |
| The Derm Review Clinician, chemist or brand page · 2022-12-03 | Elle MacLeman | Cites a broad 'safe' range of 0.0001%-20%; clinical testing at 5-10% showed no… · Does not directly compare 2% vs 5% vs 10% efficacy; only states 5-10% tested with no significant irritation | Niacinamide products are safe in their indicated uses" for most skin types, including sensitive skin. |
| Dr Shereene Idriss Clinician, chemist or brand page · 2022-03-29 | Shereene Idriss, Dermatologist (PillowtalkDerm; Idriss Dermatology, NYC) | 3-5% ('sweet spot') · 3–5% is the sweet spot; higher strengths risk a counterproductive effect (irritation, breakouts). | 3-5% is the sweet spot. |
| NBC Select Editorial test · Updated December 12, | Bianca Alvarez, Dr. Marisa Garshick, board-certified dermatologist and clinical assistant professor at… | 3-5% (sweet spot); up to 10% for more persistent concerns per some quoted… · 5% niacinamide improves skin appearance with little risk of sensitivity; concentrations above 5% can irritate sensitive… | Niacinamide is a buzzy skin care ingredient, but for good reason. Not only is it hydrating, but it can also improve overall tone and texture. |
Where they agree
- It is one of the best-tolerated actives in skincare and does several modest things at once: oil, barrier, inflammation, pigment. Every source says so.
- Most products are 5% or under, and 5% or under is the usual recommendation: 10 of the 13 that state a strength.
- Where the vitamin C question is addressed, the answer is that the reaction is a myth: WebMD, Lab Muffin, Dr Bunting, DermApproved and The Derm Review name the flush claim and dismiss it; Paula's Choice, Curology, Dr Idriss and NBC call the pair compatible without naming it; the other ten do not mention vitamin C.
- Results take two to twelve weeks depending on the effect. Every source that gives a timeline lands inside that range.
Where they split
- Is 10% too much? — Dr Idriss: 3–5% is the sweet spot, and more risks a counterproductive effect. NBC's Dr Turner: "more" does not always equal "better". Dr Lim: 5–10% is normal. DermApproved: past 10% "rarely does more". Paula's Choice and The Derm Review: safe to 20%. The safety panel found no stinging at up to 10% and no irritation at up to 5%; there is no efficacy trial above 5%. So 10% is not dangerous, and it is not evidenced; the two camps are answering different questions.
- Does niacinamide flush? — Lab Muffin: flushing comes from niacin, as an impurity or from breakdown. Dr Lim: it does not cause flushing. DermApproved and NBC: higher strengths raise the odds of a "prickly feel". Wohlrab, Forbat and DermNet do not mention flushing as a topical effect; the 2021 review reports none at 10%. No trial reports flushing. What people feel from some 10%+ serums is real, and the literature attributes it to the formula or to niacin.
- When results show — Two weeks (Lim, first signs); two to four weeks (NBC); four to twelve weeks (WebMD, Healthline); eight to twelve for pigment (DermApproved). The trials measured oil at two weeks, pigment at four, acne at eight, lines at twelve. The sources agree once you ask which effect.
- With vitamin C — Five sources name the vitamin C interaction and call it a myth; four more call the pair compatible without naming it; ten do not mention it. No source in the panel says to avoid the pairing. No published source for the claim exists that we could find, and the one clinical trial combining them (with tranexamic acid) reduced melasma pigmentation to a similar degree as hydroquinone.
Who is cited
Clinicians, scientists and review authors cited on this page
Quotation marks mean verbatim. Positions summarized from a longer piece are unquoted.
- Yong Chool Boo Department of Molecular Medicine, Kyungpook National University; author of the 2021 review
There is no convincing evidence that nicotinamide has specific molecular targets for controlling skin aging and pigmentation.
Antioxidants (review), open access · 2021 ↗ - Johannes Wohlrab and Daniela Kreft MD, Department of Dermatology and Venereology, Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg
Given a sufficient bioavailability, niacinamide has antipruritic, antimicrobial, vasoactive, photo-protective, sebostatic and lightening effects depending on its concentration.
Skin Pharmacology and Physiology (review) · 2014 ↗ - CIR Expert Panel Cosmetic Ingredient Review, safety assessment of niacinamide and niacin
Clinical testing of Niacinamide produced no stinging sensation at concentrations up to 10%, use tests produced no irritation at concentrations up to 5%.
International Journal of Toxicology · 2005 ↗ - A/Prof Amanda Oakley MBChB FRACP, dermatologist; DermNet NZ (updated the entry)
Nicotinamide is well tolerated and often can be used by those who cannot tolerate topical retinoids or fruit acids.
DermNet NZ · 2018 ↗ - Michelle Wong PhD chemistry, Lab Muffin Beauty Science
Niacin makes your skin flush and tingle, but it's mostly just an annoyance.
Lab Muffin, The Ordinary review part 2 ↗ - Dr Sam Bunting MD, consultant dermatologist, London
No need to worry about that confusing old study on vitamin C and niacinamide interacting.
drsambunting.com ↗ - Dr Davin Lim MD, dermatologist, Brisbane
Niacinamide does not cause flushing & is well tolerated... skin allergies following niacinamide are extremely rare.
drdavinlim.com ↗ - Dr Shereene Idriss MD, board-certified dermatologist, New York
3-5% is the sweet spot.
dridriss.com ↗ - Dr Marisa Garshick and Dr Ryan Turner MD, board-certified dermatologists (Garshick: clinical assistant professor, Cornell)5% has been shown to improve skin appearance with little risk of sensitivity; above 5% may irritate sensitive skin; "more" does not always equal "better" (Turner). quoted in NBC Select ↗
- Dr Debra Jaliman MD, dermatologist; medical reviewer of the WebMD articleThe WebMD article she reviewed states that products at 5% or less are generally safe to use and that the vitamin C incompatibility is a common myth. WebMD (reviewed) ↗
This page has not been medically reviewed. It cites the published positions of the people above and the trials and reviews in the sources list, and it says where a claim is an opinion. A board-certified dermatologist who would review it can reach us through the corrections page.
14 / Questions
Frequently asked
- What percentage of niacinamide should I use?
- 5%. That is the strength behind the anti-aging and pigmentation trials; 4% performed as well as clindamycin for acne; 2% is enough to lower oil. The 10% and 20% serums have never been compared with 5% in a trial. If a 10% product suits you there is no harm in it; there is also no evidence it does more. 697
- Is 10% niacinamide too much?
- It is safe: clinical testing found no stinging at up to 10%. It is also unevidenced: no efficacy trial exists above 5%. Some people sting or flush on 10%+ serums, and that is usually the formula. If it happens, switch to a 5% product from a different brand. 10
- Does niacinamide cause flushing?
- Niacinamide does not. Niacin, the acid form of vitamin B3, does, and it can be present in a product as an impurity or form when niacinamide breaks down with heat and time. A warm, red, tingling reaction points at the bottle. 1910
- Can I use niacinamide with vitamin C?
- Yes. The warning comes from an unnamed 1960s test of unstabilized ascorbic acid that nobody can produce; no published source for it exists that we could find, and every dermatologist and chemist in our panel who names it calls it a myth. Brands combine the two on purpose, and a serum pairing them with tranexamic acid reduced melasma pigmentation to a similar degree as 4% hydroquinone. 1323
- Can I use niacinamide with retinol?
- Yes, and you probably should: niacinamide's barrier effect reduces retinoid irritation. Medical News Today's summary of the research is that the pair is better tolerated than the retinoid alone; we did not locate the underlying trial. Niacinamide first, retinoid on top, at night. 21
- How long does niacinamide take to work?
- Oil drops within two weeks. Redness and shine ease over two to four. Acne was measured at eight weeks, pigment at four to eight, fine lines at twelve. The trials applied it twice a day; once a day will be slower. If you are judging a dark spot, give it three months; if you are judging shine, two weeks is enough. 769
- Does niacinamide shrink pores?
- No trial measures pore size. What the trials measure is sebum, which falls at 2%; less oil makes pores look smaller without changing them. "Minimizes pores" on a label is the oil claim from a different angle. 7
- Is 20% niacinamide better than 10%?
- There is no efficacy trial at either strength, so there is nothing to compare. The human stinging data stops at 10%; the only 20% figure in the safety review is a guinea-pig sensitization challenge, which was negative. The two 20% products we decoded are built like the 10% ones with more niacinamide. 10
- Is niacinamide the same as niacin?
- No. Niacinamide is the amide form of vitamin B3 and niacin is the acid form. Niacin dilates blood vessels and flushes the skin; niacinamide does not. Skincare products use niacinamide. If a label says niacin or nicotinic acid, that is the ingredient that flushes. 5
- Is niacinamide good for rosacea and sensitive skin?
- It is one of the few actives most rosacea-prone skin tolerates, and dermatologists use it for that; its anti-inflammatory and barrier effects are the reason. There is no rosacea trial, so the evidence is mechanism and clinic experience. Start at 5% once a day. 2217
15 / References
Sources
- 1
- 2
- 3
- 4
- 5
- 6
- 7
- 8
- 9
- 10
- 11
- 12
- 13
- 14
- 15
- 16
- 17
- 18
- 19
- 20
- 21
- 22
- 23
- 24
13 / Field reports
What 610 community comments about niacinamide say
610 comments that mention niacinamide · from 200 threads · r/SkincareAddiction, r/AsianBeauty, r/Skincare_Addiction · Apr 2015 – Jul 2026
We harvested the top-voted threads about niacinamide from three skincare subreddits and kept every comment or post that itself mentions niacinamide: 610 in all. The shares below are the proportion of those comments that raise each theme; a comment can raise more than one. Each quote is a top-voted first-person comment for that theme.
Share of comments that mention niacinamide that raise each theme
The most-raised topic: 38% of comments argue about the number on the bottle. The community rule is "5% or lower; 10% is too strong". No trial supports either half of it. What the trials support is that 2–5% is where the benefits were measured, and the safety testing found no stinging at 10%. The rule is folk wisdom that points at the evidenced strength.
Raised in 29% of comments, and where the community and the trials disagree most. The safety testing found no irritation at up to 5%; where a comment names a strength, 10% appears in 48 and 5% in 39 of the 174. The recurring story is a serum that worked for a year or two and then began to sting, which fits a formula or a stability problem better than the ingredient.
The product that made 10% the shelf standard appears in 29% of all niacinamide comments, more than every other brand in the count combined (174 against 134; it was also one of our search terms, which inflates it). The count matches the irritation theme's 174 by coincidence; they are different comments. The sentiment splits: the six-dollar serum that works, and the one that is "universally hated because it's 10%". The two reports describe the same bottle.
One in five comments is about the vitamin C question, most of them asking whether the warning is true. It is not, and no source for it exists. The community has mostly settled on alternating morning and evening, which is unnecessary and harmless.
Routines that pair niacinamide with an acid or a retinoid are common and uncontroversial here, which matches the evidence: no interaction, and less retinoid irritation with niacinamide alongside.
Breakouts are the second-most-common complaint after stinging, in 18% of comments. The aesthetician in this comment is half right: niacinamide has no purge mechanism, so it does not purge. A formula that breaks a particular person out is real, and the breakout stories concentrate on one product at 10%.
Oil and pores come up in 16% of comments, mostly as the reason someone started. The reports that follow up say less sebum and fewer pustules, sometimes with initial redness. This is the first effect the trials measured, and the community's experience of it is the least contested on the page.
The most-upvoted post that mentions niacinamide (5,314 points) is a joke about waiting one week for niacinamide, retinol and vitamin C to fade acne marks. The trials measured pigment at four to twelve weeks. Several top replies in this theme say azelaic acid did more for their marks than niacinamide, which matches the melasma trial: patients rated niacinamide below hydroquinone.
A minority complaint, specific to the watery 10% serums: a tacky film that moisturizer takes a few minutes to dissolve. A formulation issue.
Clear wins are rarer than complaints in this harvest, and the ones that exist are about pigment: sunspots and post-acne marks fading over months, which is the effect the trials found.
Products the community names most
Method. 200 threads gathered 2026-09-12 from r/SkincareAddiction, r/AsianBeauty and r/Skincare_Addiction through Reddit's public search, sorted by top and by relevance for seven niacinamide queries; Reddit blocked roughly half of the thread fetches, so this is a sample of the top-voted discussion and not a complete count. The unit of analysis is a comment or post that itself mentions niacinamide (610 of 2,721 posts and comments harvested). Themes are keyword matches on that comment's text. "The Ordinary" was one of the search terms, which inflates its mention count. Quotes are trimmed for length and profanity, and a post's title is dropped when its body is quoted; nothing is reworded. Scores are Reddit upvotes at harvest time.